My little trooper and her broken femur

Standard

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }.flickr-yourcomment { }.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }

Yesterday was the worst day of my life. A door fell on Lorelei in an off limits room yesterday at my parents house. I wasn’t even there for 10 minutes and this happened. My niece Corlin grabbed this free standing door and it fell on Lo. My SIL opened the door for Corlin to go in this room, it’s the living room and she didn’t know it was off limits yet because she had just gotten there. I rushed in and found Lo laying next to the door holding her leg. Things could have been much worse or fatal. I’m thankful it’s just a broken leg. There was also glass in this door. No cuts on her or Corlin. I rushed Lo to her Peds and we got the order for X-Rays. It was a waiting game all day at the hospital. After x-rays we found out she has a spiral fracture of her left femur which is the best fracture to get, it heals the best. The problem is the cast she has to wear. Her legs are in a fixed position and there is a slot to fit a diaper into. This is not going to be fun, we have to try and keep her clean too. No baths, she’ll be in this cast for 6 weeks. They had to bring her to the OR and give her IV’s and put her under in order to reset and cast her up. That is the worst feeling in the world seeing being wheeled away by doctors. I know it’s just a broken leg but it was gut wrenching. I was sobbing like a baby. She was a trooper and didn’t question the doctors, she did everything they asked. She knows her leg is broken and isn’t complaining too. She slept through the night last night in our bed with us, we had to keep repositioning her every few hours. Hardly got any sleep. Taking things one hour at a time. I try not to think about it and play the what if game because I start to bawl every time. My heart is breaking for my active little girl. We’re going to have to keep her mind focused and active for this time. Please keep us in your prayers.

On a side note I’m probably not going to be doing much art lately but I’ll try. I’m going to be her legs so I won’t be far from her side. I will try to update when I can. Thank you for your patience.

13 responses »

  1. Oh, this breaks my heart!! Poor baby!! She looks so sad in the picture you posted. But, thank God it was only a broken leg. I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers sweetie!! Hang in there!

  2. This is so sad! My niece had to be in a cast like this when she was just learning to walk. My sister was a single mom and it was really difficult, but they survived. The diapering was the worst. And about that art… you know, you could make a really nice, arted up cast for that little girl of yours! You guys can work on it together! Get those markers out!

  3. Holy moley Aimee! How horrible! I can only imagine how scary the whole ordeal has been. Now you just gotta make it through the next 6 weeks…I'll be praying for you & your family.

  4. Aimee I am so sorry. What a sad little face. I understand how scared you were!! It is horrible when something happens to our children!! I will be lifting all of you up in prayer. Six weeks is not a long time, but with her in such a cast it might feel like it is at times.

  5. Ah Aimee! God bless her little heart. Wow that is quite a cast. I will keep all of you in my prayers. Enjoy keeping your sweetie close by. I read your post on twitter but had no idea of what this type of break looks like. Looks like a popsicle helped. Take care sweetie- Lauren

  6. Oh my gosh, I'm SO sorry! I just happened upon your blog and saw this posting. It's just awful when we have to go through times like this and stand by watching as our children deal with life.Hang in there and you'll be in our prayers♥All the best ~ Sharon

  7. Hi my daughter 8 just broke her femur two weeks ago. I too found it the most heartbreaking time. She was also put into a complete spica cast starting at armpits and down only its to the knee on her non broken leg. Just wondering how the healing has gon e for your daughter? How long before she was walking? They say 8 weeks in cast, 8 weeks in wheelchair with no weight bearing and then start with a walker. Looking for hope!

  8. Hi Anonymous – could you send me your email? It would be easier to write to you.It wasn't an easy 6 weeks and it will end for your daughter. I'm so sorry to hear about it. It's going to be hard and trying but you'll get through. My daughter was in her cast for about 6 weeks. She didn't move and was in pain for the first day and a half because her legs were stretching out. She started crawling a few days later and then she would start to stand up. She would take one or 2 steps at a time and then fall down. She started really walking but with a limp and slowly about 2.5 weeks after the cast was off. It took awhile for her to build the leg muscles back up and get her strength back. About a month later she was almost back completely and now she's running and jumping like nothing ever happened. If you would like to email me please feel free. Also I searched Youtube for videos of other kids in spica casts. I have some vids of her on there as well. Just keep positive that will help make the weeks go by faster. My little girl didn't complain once the whole time which helped her daddy and I stay positive. If I can help you more please contact me. Thank you and I know you'll get through this. God Bless you.

Leave a Reply

