Farmers Market or Not?

Standard

Hey all!

I’d like your input on something. I ventured out to our local farmer’s market today and I was pleasantly surprised at how big it was. There were vendors for food, fresh produce, pet products, crafts and lots of jewelry artists. One thing was missing …. ART! I found out some info on when it is and how much it costs weekly to be a vendor and it’s only $20/week. It’s a beautiful setting and the people were wonderful. I made some great new art contacts and one was even on Etsy. So my question is this: Do you think setting up and being a vendor would be worth my time and effort on Saturdays? I’d love to be out there, meet new faces and have repeat business. I would have to get a tent and all the display stuff. It runs from 9 am – 1:30 pm. I’ve never sold at a craft fair or any outdoor venue but have always wanted to try. What is your opinion?? Is it worth all the money, time and effort? I’d love to have feedback from seasoned sellers. Thanks again! Have a fabulous weekend!

Aimée

8 responses »

  1. I think it’s worth a try. Do you have to sign a contract for a year, or anything like that? If you can just try it out for 6 months, I think it’s worth it. That way you get a taste of what it’s like, whether or not the fish bite there, and you can make even more contacts in the area. That’s my thought.

  2. I do farmers’ markets every week during the summer months when they run up here in the ADK, and I have to say that for the first two years that I did them, they were my sole source of income! Just be prepared for ups and downs – some weeks will be great, some weeks will be awful. But you’ll meet wonderful people and have a lot of fun. I say, go for it!

  3. Maybe you can try it some few weeks to see if ot is worth the trouble. Is there anyway you can borrow or rent the tent so as not to invest until you see if you like it? I know you are a great seller so you could sell good there. Maybe one of the others there could let you share a tent for a while or alter weeks with one. Good luck.

  4. You’ve got nothing to lose other than $20/week to try it for a couple of weeks. And, down there you don’t have to worry too much about the weather.

  5. I’ve never tried a farmer’s market, but I did try one of the big flea markets once. I didn’t have to have my own tent, as they furnished a covered space with tables. The location could have been better, but the real problem was that it rained (July) and I couldn’t get the outside panels to come down, so things got wet. Then people left, so I did too. Watch out for the rainy season from June on – then comes the heat. Check the tents at Sam’s Club if you want one. I think that now while the snowbirds are here would be a good time to try the farmer’s market. I’d love to find art when I stop to buy veggies and strawberries! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

