Time for some Fish!

Standard

photo taken by my bro because I already dug into mine!

Last night I realized I was out of meat and found that I had a bag of tilapia in the freezer just waiting to be used! I also had 3 abandoned sweet potatoes on the counter asking to be cooked so I figured I’d oblige them. What was a mish mash meal actually turned out really yummy! So here goes! I actually based my tilapia recipe off of this fish recipe and changed things up to my liking.

PALEO Almond Encrusted Tilapia

Ingredients:

  • 6 pieces of fresh or frozen tilapia (2 per person)
  • splashes of lime juice
  • 2 tbsp dried cilantro
  • 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1-2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp parsley
  • 1 egg
  • olive oil or coconut oil for sautéing

Thaw out the fish if it’s frozen. Beat the egg and put it in a separate bowl. In a large ziplock bag put in the almond flour and seasonings and shake it up. Heat up oil in a sauté pan. Dredge the fish in the egg then place 1 piece at a time in the ziplock and shake the bag up making sure the fish is getting coated in the mixture. Once coated place in the oil and cook fish about 3-4 minutes on both sides, cook a little longer for crispier coating. While cooking splash in/on/around the fish with lime juice for some extra flavor. Repeat the process for all the fish. Cook on medium heat.

Savory Sweet Potato Bites

Ingredients:

  • 3 sweet potatoes
  • dried rosemary
  • garlic powder
  • salt
  • parsley
  • 1/4 cup olive oil

Start by cutting the sweet potatoes into bite size chunks. Place the chunks in an oven safe glass bowl with a lid. Pour in olive oil and top with your seasonings just enough to give it some flavor. Mix it all up till the potatoes are coated. Place the lid on and cook on 400 degrees for about 40 minutes. I didn’t have time to peel my potatoes so the skins went in with it. It’s good either way.

Serve both of these with your choice of veggies. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

