Jason’s Favorite Meatloaf!

Standard

I dug in before taking a photo!

So I bought a meatloaf pack of meat the other day, 1/2 pork, 1/2 beef combo at my local Publix. I have never seen one of those before and I was intrigued and had dreams of making a fabulous meatloaf for my family! I started browsing the internet for Paleo friendly meatloafs and figured instead of breadcrumbs I’d use almond flour until I stumbled upon this post. I really wanted to try it. I didn’t have all the ingredients she had but I came up with my variation of this recipe and threw in a lot to the meatloaf mix, what came out was truly superb. I heard awesome reviews like, “you could sell this!”, “I would order this at a restaurant!”, “You need to make this again!” NO KETCHUP REQUIRED! 🙂 I had to agree it was really tasty! So here we go with my mish mash meatloaf! I really didn’t measure the spices I put in but just added what I thought would work so I apologize. Here we go!

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound 1/2 pork, 1/2 beef (ground) combo
  • 3/4 of minced green pepper
  • 2 cups of mushrooms chopped
  • 1 tbsp fresh sage (minced)
  • onion powder
  • garlic powder
  • salt
  • pepper
  • smoked paprika
  • crushed red pepper flakes
  • 2 eggs
Topping
  • 1/2 can fire roasted tomatoes (diced)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp Worcester sauce
  • 1 tbsp honey

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Put olive oil (or coconut oil) around your meatloaf pan so it doesn’t stick. Mix all the ingredients together (minus the sauce) and stick it in the oven for 15 minutes. Mix up the honey, Worcester sauce and fire roasted tomatoes together and once the 15 minutes are up place it on top of the meatloaf. Put it back in the oven for another 40 minutes and you’ll have yourself a very different and tasty meatloaf! It’s very filling with all the extra veggies in it. If I had onions in the house I would have diced some up to put in. I served it up with a side of steamed broccoli and had some Ghee on top of the broccoli. Very yummy!!

If you make this I’d love to hear what you thought of it! 🙂

2 responses »

  1. This was absolutely delish!!!!!! It was also very filling so we ate less. Very flavorful and you can play with the ingredients also. Definately a must try, my husband absolutely loved it, and he wants it again!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

