Day of the Dead (critters) series

Standard

***Blog winners*** Still waiting to hear from a few of your so I can mail off your winnings! Send me your addy’s please! OK now that that is out of the way on to my latest series.

Le Murciélago is at City Arts Factory.

I responded to a call to artists from Orlando City Arts Factory (where my skateboards were) for their October Third Thursday and the theme was Day of the Dead/Monsters. They are going all out for this one! They’re even having a zombie-walk downtown! I won’t be able to make the opening and couldn’t bring my family even if I wanted to (the girls would be freaked out) but I decided to still participate. I created an original owl painting I was going to show and hopefully add to but it was bought before I could even bring it down. So I created another one and then the rest of the series sort of exploded! As of now I’ve sold 3, I’ve had commissions pop up for the same style, my friend in Mt. Dora wants a bunch for her shop and I traded one to another friend for some of her art. I’ve created little matching ACEO’s as well. This series is so much fun and I’m still thinking of new ideas. Right now they off to the scanner to have prints/cards made as well. I can’t wait to see them all! I will be creating more for the Halloween show at Twisted Vine in Sanford as well! The bat one is going to be the one going to City Arts Factory today for the opening on Thursday night. If you’re local go check it out! If you want to see the whole series go to my FB page. As always thanks for reading! 🙂

Aimée AKA Mazer

5 responses »

  1. Love the art piece! Honestly, not to go all Dr Seuss on you, but it made me think you combined two beloved Halloween characters. First words when I saw it was, “How cool! It’s the cat in the bat!” The catlike facial features on your bat are inspired!

Leave a Reply

