A Mother’s Apothecary

Standard

A Mother's Apothecary

I wanted to share with you what I created about a month after my Mom passed this year. This piece just came to me one day and I feel like she inspired it. I was tearing up making it, part of my grieving process. This is an altered cigar box that I had for years but never knew what I wanted to do with it. I knew it was a special box and I didn’t want to mess it up. The thing I liked about this box was the sliding cover to close an open this piece. This has become a treasured piece in my home that I just can’t part with. It’s in my studio on a shelf and I know that I can look at it and grab whatever I need for that day.

Mom and my youngest Lily Bean a few months before our world changed. I get my creativity from her. <3

Mom and my youngest Lily Bean a few months before our world changed. I get my creativity from her. ❤

I knew even though my mom is gone she is still with me in spirit, heart, how I raise my own daughters and I know she would want me to have all of these special things in my life. A mother’s love is never truly gone even when she is. She will always be a part of me and I will see her again one day in Heaven. This is my little medicine cabinet. These special things are: Love, Joy, Faith, Wisdom, Courage and a dash of Luck. This piece has a lot of heart and soul.

I altered this piece to look very vintage, I put the date 1908 just because. I’ve included bits of paper, canvas, paint, buttons, stickers, bottles, jewelry, micro beads, pearls as well as a broken piece from a pair of vintage reading glasses to see things closer. I hope you enjoy this piece as much as I do. Feel free to ask or comment on it.

8517424256_4dea987c8d_b 8517423744_b2149d2d47_b 8517423350_aa146eed60_b 8517422880_b6c0488de6_b 8516309847_4f93cb0e65_b 8516307565_dba445ac2b_b

8516303823_5af42dcaaf_b

 

xoxo

Aimée

Robin Nest Logo

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Creative Inheritance is a Beautiful Thing | creativeFlutter

Leave a Reply

